Volley in the non-volley zone
Posted On December 02, 2013
Author: Jennifer Lucore
Bruce from Cape Elizabeth, Maine asks: "If you go into the non-volley zone after returning a ground stroke that was not in the non-volley zone, is that a fault? I can't find it the rules book"
Hello Bruce, you can go in and out of the non-volley zone (NVZ) as much as you want as long as you do not hit the ball in the air while you are in any part of the NVZ. To maybe help you more let's review the volley. To volley a ball means to hit it in the air without first letting it bounce. All volleying must be done with player's feet behind the NVZ line. NOTE: It is a fault if the player steps over (or on) the line on his volley follow through.
Here is a good doubles visual - position of players 1 - 4 at net when volleying.